Most of the downtown area was built between 1901 and 1930 and remains in use today. A lot of the buildings are a testament to a long gone sense of esthetics. In some buildings, it appears that the builder went out of his way to add small cosmetic touches to make the finished facade more pleasing. While in others, form lagged well behind function. Surprisingly, only a few buildings are on the Oklahoma Historic Registry
The town has been the capital of the Muscogee (Creek) Nation since 1868.